God and gay meeting

I feel quite brave – I came out at church!

I’ve never been out at church before; I’ve only ever told people I can trust.

I stayed quiet nearly the whole time listening and only made one point saying that “it’s ironic that the church is quite happy to marry couple that aren’t Christian and baptise babies because the parents “just think it’s the thing to do” but they won’t bless a loving, monogamous, committed civil partnership”. That’s all I said until the end when I said “I’ve talked to many gay people who when they find out I’m Christian get freaked and don’t really want to know because they’ve had girlfriends leave them because their girlfriend has been made to feel they have to choose between girlfriend n God” and the bishop said “and I bet when they got to know u they realised u were just human” so I thought stuff it because people had been saying all night “I don’t know any gay people” and “I don’t know what gay people think of this that n the other”.

So I said “actually, I’m a lesbian as well as a Christian and I’ve also had the experiences of etc” (told them some of the negative experiences I’d had and said that’s how many gay people see Christians because of what some Christians have told them and the fact that gay people have wanted nothing to do wit me because I’m a Christian too).

I was quite scared lol… but me vicar had been saying earlier how a lot of gay people have had bad experiences and so actually keep their mouth shut in fear of the condemnation they may receive so that made me feel a little more confident funny enough…

One of the people who were at the meeting gave me a lift home. She also gave me the confidence because she was saying from her point of view n arguing that her mum is a lesbian in a 22year relationship and has just had a civil partnership – so again she was very supportive and said what I did was brave etc on the way home….. So I don’t feel too scared now.

It’s good to know that whatever happens there’s at least three people in that church that are fab and that are supportive including the vicar 😛

I know it sounds daft, but I feel more confident about confirmation now people know too….

Yeah… I don’t feel like I’m hiding some secret or something…

Hm – It’s all good and I’m feeling good.

4 Comments »

  1. WASP Said:

    It’s a strange world isn’t it?

    Sometimes it’s almost as though some unseen force is in charge.

  2. Emeth Said:

    Yes – hahahahaha… Sometimes it almost like that! 😛

  3. EMM Said:

    I appreciate your website..one of the reasons being- that Emeth is one of my favorite literary characters ever 🙂

    I am a sinner…that has been saved by the perfect blood of Christ..and without Christ’s death and resurection i would be nothing…

    There is nothing that we can do to have eternal life except through Jesus Christ.
    — So that being said, I must lovingly say that homosexuality is a sin- not by my words but by God’s….

    I believe that it is wrong when people hold up signs saying “God hates Gays” because that in itself is blasphemy…God loves everyone, he just hates our sins. for example- I have a problem with selfishness, and greediness…God did not create me to be this way…He hates what sin becomes in our hearts and that is why he died on the cross to cleanse us from our tainted hearts…

    again.. i’m not saying this out of hate- but i am saying this like Paul the apostle said in the new testament…countless times he wrote churches and he lovingly rebuked them of their sin. If we love Christ, then it should be our hearts desire to be like Christ….as paul said..

    “I press toward the goal of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus” Philippians 3:14

    for with Christ in your heart..you, God’s beloved, are a new creation.. the old has gone the new has come.
    With love, your sister in Christ

  4. Emeth Said:

    Heya EMM,

    Thanks for your comment 🙂

    I understand your opinion and completely accept that. If that’s what you believe and you’re obviously not saying it in hatred (by the sounds of it you would love someone who’s gay the same as you would love anyone else) then I’m not going to try and persuade you different etc as you have every right to believe that.

    I like the fact that people are willing to say different on this site, I just get upset when people are so all knowing and self righteous about this subject. It can really damage a person.

    I think God loves me just as I am, with all my faults and habits and things that irritate Him lol! And I truly believe He accepts me as that too… I change things about me out of love.

    For instance… when you love someone and something you do irritates them then you try to change that, not cos you’re scared or think you have to but because you want to.

    BUT… if the other person was pushing you saying that irritates me, change it. That’s not good enough, change it. (or however nicely you dress it up…) it’s still someone who’s supposed to love you trying to change you.

    I then question is that love? Well, in human terms, yes… if someone pushes you to change or something irritates them so they want you to change it, then it doesn’t mean they don’t love you. It means they’re human! However, when God IS love… I would question what kind of love that is that pushes you to change.

    Going back to the beginning, I believe that God loves me, just as I am… Kinda like that scene in Bridget Jones’ Diary:

    Mark Darcy: I like you, very much.
    Bridget: Ah, apart from the smoking and the drinking, the vulgar mother and… ah, the verbal diarrhea.
    Mark Darcy: No, I like you very much. Just as you are.

    God doesn’t force me into anything… I change out of love for Him and I really believe that is a natural thing. It isn’t a “I’m really going to concentrate hard to do this to please Him”… I believe it happens naturally if that’s what you really want. You change and grow while walking the path alongside Him.

    As my vicar once told me… I don’t think God says “Take my hand and follow me along this path”…. I think God says “Take my hand and let’s walk this path and whatever we get ourselves messed up in, we’ll deal with together.”

    I no longer believe I’m “off the path” in my walk with God… or “I’m way off the path and God’s on the path going ‘where you going?'”….. because I don’t believe for a second that God would let go of my hand…. whereever I am, God is right beside me holding my hand… and how can I be in the wrong place if I’m with Him.

    Anyway, I’ve waffled on a bit lol!!!

    Thankyou for the comment anyway 🙂

    Emeth


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

